John Lustig stands behind counter of his grocery business (now Nelson's)
The history of Nelson's is a fascinating one. In the early 1920's Nelson's was known as the Seven Corners grocery store operated by John Lustig. Along with cold meats and other groceries they carried Supreme ice-cream and the first pasteurized milk in Stillwater.
In the 1930's Lustig added two gas pumps, twenty five and fifty pound ice cakes and fireworks. After Lustig's death in 1947, the grocery store was operated by Art Nelson who lived in the smaller building on the property. After Art died in 1964, his son Wade bought the store. The Nelson family's main business was Brown's Ice Cream in Minneapolis, which allowed Seven Corners to serve generous two scoop ice cream cones for ten cents in the 60's. The Nelson family changed the name of Seven Corners to Nelsons Dairy Store. The store was sold to Bob Pasket and Chuck Kummeth in 1992 who continued serving mammoth sized ice cream cones.
Nelson's Ice-cream was purchased by Stillwater residents Bill Bergstrom and Dave Najarian, and is operated by Dave Najarian.